Radiation Therapy With or Without Apalutamide in Treating Patients With Stage III-IV Prostate Cancer

Official Title

A Phase II, Double-Blinded, Placebo Controlled Randomized Trial of Salvage Radiation Therapy With or Without Enhanced Anti-androgen Therapy With Apalutamide in Recurrent Prostate Cancer

Summary:

This phase II trial studies how well radiation therapy with or without apalutamide works in treating patients with stage III-IV prostate cancer. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-ray to kill tumour cells and shrink tumours. Androgen can cause the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs, such as apalutamide, may lessen the amount of androgen made by the body. Giving radiation therapy and apalutamide may work better at treating prostate cancer than radiation alone.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Biochemical Progression-free survival (bPFS)
Secondary Outcome:
  • Acute Patient-Reported Morbidity (per the patient reported outcomes [PRO]- Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE])
  • Acute Physician-Reported Morbidity (per the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE] version 5)
  • Late Patient-Reported Morbidity (per the patient reported outcomes [PRO]- Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE])
  • Late Physician-Reported Morbidity (per the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE] version 4) defined as grade 3+ adverse events occurring more than 30 days after the completion of radiation therapy
  • Cancer-Specific Mortality (CSM)
  • Distant Metastasis
  • Initiation of Salvage Hormonal Therapy
  • Local-Regional Progression
  • Metastasis-Free Survival (MFS)
  • Overall survival (OS)
  • PSA Nadir During First Year of Treatment and Prior to Initiation of any Hormonal Salvage Therapy
  • Testosterone Levels
  • Undetectable PSA with a Non-Castrate Testosterone (PSA < 0.1 ng/ml and testosterone >= 50 ng/dl)
  • Undetectable PSA with a Non-Castrate testosterone (PSA < 0.1 ng/ml and testosterone >= 50 ng/dl))
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To determine whether, in men with post-prostatectomy PSA recurrences, salvage radiation (SRT) with enhanced anti-androgen therapy with apalutamide will improve biochemical progression-free survival (bPFS) compared to SRT alone. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To assess whether molecular stratification by the PAM50 gene expression clustering will identify subsets of prostate cancer (luminal A or basal, luminal B) which derive the greatest benefit from anti-androgen therapy. II. To assess overall survival. III. To assess cancer-specific mortality. IV. To assess metastasis-free survival. V. To assess distant metastasis. VI. To assess local-regional progression. VII. To assess PSA nadir during first year of treatment and prior to initiation of any hormonal salvage therapy. VIII. To assess initiation of salvage hormonal therapy. IX. To assess PSA with a non-castrate testosterone at 1 and 3 years post randomization: PSA < 0.1 ng/ml and testosterone >= 50 ng/dl. X. To assess acute and late physician-reported morbidity (per the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE] version 5) after SRT +/- apalutamide. XI. To assess acute and late patient-reported morbidity (per the patient reported outcomes [PRO]-CTCAE) after SRT +/- apalutamide. XII. To assess testosterone levels at 3, 6, 9, 12, and 36 months post randomization. OUTLINE:

Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms. ARM 1: Patients undergo external beam radiation therapy on Day 1 for 7.5 weeks. Beginning on Day 1 of radiation therapy, patients receive placebo orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-30. Treatment repeats every 30 days for up to 6 courses (6 months) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. ARM 2: Patients undergo external beam radiation therapy on Day 1 for 7.5 weeks. Beginning on Day 1 of radiation therapy, patients receive apalutamide PO QD on Days 1-30. Treatment repeats every 30 days for up to 6 courses (6 months) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for 3 years, and then yearly thereafter.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Radiothérapie avec ou sans apalutamide pour le traitement des patients atteints d’un cancer de la prostate de stade III-IV

Titre officiel

Une version d’essai de phase II, avec répartition aléatoire, à double insu et contrôlée par placebo de la radiothérapie de rattrapage avec ou sans traitement antiandrogénique amélioré à l’apalutamide dans le cancer de la prostate récurrent

Sommaire:

Cet essai de phase II évalue la mesure dans laquelle la radiothérapie avec ou sans apalutamide est efficace pour traiter des patients atteints d’un cancer de la prostate de stade III à IV. La radiothérapie administre des rayons X à haute énergie afin de tuer les cellules tumorales et de réduire la taille des tumeurs. Les androgènes peuvent provoquer la croissance des cellules cancéreuses dans la prostate. Les médicaments, comme l’apalutamide, peuvent réduire la quantité d’androgènes produite par l’organisme. L’administration d’une radiothérapie et de l’apalutamide peut être plus efficace que la radiothérapie administrée seule pour traiter le cancer de la prostate.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Survie sans progression biochimique (SSPb)

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Morbidité aiguë déclarée par le patient (selon les résultats signalés par le patient [RSP]- critères communs de terminologie pour les réactions indésirables [CTCAE])
  • Morbidité aiguë déclarée par le médecin (selon les critères communs de terminologie pour les événements indésirables [CTCAE] – version 4)
  • Morbidité tardive déclarée par le patient (selon les résultats signalés par le patient [RSP]- critères communs de terminologie pour les réactions indésirables [CTCAE])
  • Morbidité tardive déclarée par le médecin (selon les critères communs de terminologie pour les réactions indésirables [CTCAE] – version 4) définie comme des événements indésirables de grade 3 ou plus survenus plus de 30 jours après la fin de la radiothérapie
  • Mortalité liée au cancer (MLC)
  • Métastases à distance
  • Début de l’hormonothérapie de rattrapage
  • Progression locale-régionale
  • Survie sans métastases (SSM)
  • Survie globale (SG)
  • Nadir de l’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS) au cours de la première année de traitement et avant le début de tout traitement hormonal de rattrapage
  • Taux de testostérone
  • APS indétectable avec un niveau de testostérone correspondant à la non-castration (APS < 0,1 ng/mL et testostérone >= 50 ng/dL)
  • APS indétectable avec un niveau de testostérone correspondant à la non-castration (APS < 0,1 ng/mL et testostérone >= 50 ng/dL)

PRINCIPAUX OBJECTIFS :
I. Déterminer si, chez les hommes présentant des récidives d’APS après une prostatectomie, la radiothérapie de rattrapage (RR) associée à un traitement antiandrogénique amélioré par l’apalutamide améliorera la survie sans progression biochimique (SSPb) comparativement à la RR seule. OBJECTIFS SECONDAIRES :


I. Évaluer si la stratification moléculaire par le groupement d’expression génique PAM50 permettra de déterminer les sous-ensembles du cancer de la prostate (luminal A ou basal, luminal B) qui tirent le plus grand bénéfice du traitement antiandrogénique. II. Évaluer la survie globale. III. Évaluer la mortalité liée au cancer. IV. Évaluer la survie sans métastase. V. Évaluer les métastases à distance. VI. Évaluer la progression locale-régionale. VII. Évaluer le nadir de l’APS au cours de la première année de traitement et avant le début de toute hormonothérapie de rattrapage. VIII. Évaluer l’initiation de l’hormonothérapie de rattrapage. IX. Évaluer l’APS avec un niveau de testostérone correspondant à la non-castration à 1 an et 3 ans après la répartition aléatoire : APS < 0,1 ng/mL et testostérone >= 50 ng/dL. X. Évaluer la morbidité aiguë et tardive déclarée par le médecin (selon les critères communs de terminologie pour les événements indésirables [CTCAE] – version 4) après la RR +/- apalutamide. XI. Évaluer la morbidité aiguë et tardive déclarée par le patient (selon les résultats signalés par le patient [RSP] - CTCAE) après la RR +/- apalutamide. XII. Évaluer les taux de testostérone à 3, 6, 9, 12 et 36 mois après la répartition aléatoire. APERÇU :

Les patients seront répartis de façon aléatoire dans l’un des deux groupes de traitement ci-dessous. GROUPE 1 : Les patients subissent une radiothérapie externe le jour 1 pendant 7,5 semaines. À partir du jour 1 de la radiothérapie, les patients reçoivent un placebo par voie orale une fois par jour les jours 1 à 30. Le traitement est répété tous les 30 jours pour un total maximal de 6 cycles (6 mois) en l’absence de progression de la maladie ou d’une toxicité inacceptable. GROUPE 2 : Les patients subissent une radiothérapie externe le jour 1 pendant 7,5 semaines. À partir du jour 1 de la radiothérapie, les patients reçoivent l’apalutamide par voie orale une fois par jour aux jours 1 à 30. Le traitement est répété tous les 30 jours pour un total maximal de 6 cycles (6 mois) en l’absence de progression de la maladie ou d’une toxicité inacceptable. À la fin du traitement à l’étude, les patients sont suivis tous les 3 mois pendant 2 ans, puis tous les 6 mois pendant 3 ans puis une fois par an par la suite.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer