A Study of Efficacy and Safety of LAG525 in Combination With Spartalizumab, or With Spartalizumab and Carboplatin, or With Carboplatin, in Patients With Advanced Triple-negative Breast Cancer

Official Title

A Phase II Open-label, Randomized, Three-arm, Multicentre Study of LAG525 Given in Combination With Spartalizumab (PDR001), or With Spartalizumab and Carboplatin, or With Carboplatin, as First or Second Line Therapy in Patients With Advanced Triple-negative Breast Cancer

Summary:

The purpose of this study is to assess the efficacy, safety, and PK characteristics of the following three combinations: i) LAG525 + spartalizumab; ii) LAG525 + spartalizumab + carboplatin, and iii) LAG525 + carboplatin in subjects with advanced TNBC and up to one prior line of systemic treatment for metastatic disease. A thorough biomarker strategy to address key aspects of tumour immunogenicity will be implemented in the study. LAG525 and spartalizumab are two immuno-agents targeting different immune checkpoints, and have been tested as single agents and in combination. To further enhance the efficacy of checkpoint inhibition, carboplatin will be given with LAG525 or with LAG525 and spartalizumab, based on the observation that the addition of chemotherapy can change the tumour microenvironment to be more favourable to immune response.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Overall response rate (ORR) per RECIST v1.1 per investigators' assessment
Secondary Outcome:
  • Duration of response (DOR)
  • Overall Survival (OS)
  • Pharmacokinetics (PK) parameter, Ctrough, of LAG525, spartalizumab and carboplatin
  • Time to response (TTR)
  • Progression free survival (PFS)
  • Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)
  • PK parameter, Cmax of LAG525, spartalizumab and carboplatin
  • PK parameter, AUC, of LAG525, spartalizumab and carboplatin
  • Anti-drug antibodies (ADA) prevalence at baseline for LAG525 and spartalizumab
  • Anti-drug antibodies (ADA) incidence on treatment for LAG525 and spartalizumab
The sponsor and the study steering committee decided to prematurely stop enrollment of subjects to Arm 1 after data review showed an increased treatment discontinuation rate due to progressive disease in Arm 1 as compared to Arms 2 and 3 (both containing Carboplatin).

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Étude évaluant l’efficacité et l’innocuité de LAG525 en association avec le spartalizumab, ou en association avec le spartalizumab et le carboplatine, ou en association avec le carboplatine, chez des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein triple négatif à un stade avancé

Titre officiel

Étude ouverte de phase II, multicentrique, à répartition aléatoire et à trois groupes, évaluant le LAG525 administré en association avec le spartalizumab (PDR001), ou en association avec le spartalizumab et le carboplatine, ou en association avec le carboplatine, en première ou deuxième intention chez des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein triple négatif à un stade avancé

Sommaire:

Le but de cette étude est d’évaluer l’efficacité, l’innocuité et les caractéristiques pharmacocinétiques des trois associations médicamenteuses suivantes, à savoir LAG525 + spartalizumab, LAG525 + spartalizumab + carboplatine, et LAG525 + carboplatine, chez des sujets atteints d’un cancer du sein triple négatif (CSTN) à un stade avancé ayant reçu tout au plus un cycle de traitement à action générale pour une maladie métastatique. Une stratégie rigoureuse fondée sur un biomarqueur et visant les aspects clés de l’immunogénicité tumorale sera mise en œuvre dans le cadre de l’étude. Le LAG525 et le spartalizumab sont deux agents immunologiques ciblant différents points de contrôle immunitaires qui ont déjà été évalués en monothérapie et en association avec d’autres agents. Afin d’accroître l’efficacité de l’inhibition des points de contrôle, le carboplatine sera administré avec le LAG525 ou avec le LAG525 et le spartalizumab combinés, une stratégie fondée sur l’observation que l’ajout d’une chimiothérapie peut modifier le microenvironnement de la tumeur, favorisant ainsi la réponse immunitaire.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Taux de réponse global (TRO), la réponse étant déterminée par les investigateurs au moyen des critères RECIST (version 1.1)

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Durée de la réponse (DR)
  • Survie globale (SG)
  • Paramètres pharmacocinétiques et concentrations minimales (Cmin) du LAG525, du spartalizumab et du carboplatine
  • Délai avant la réponse
  • Survie sans progression (SSP)
  • Taux de bienfait clinique (TBC)
  • Paramètres pharmacocinétiques et concentrations maximales (Cmax) du LAG525, du spartalizumab et du carboplatine
  • Paramètres pharmacocinétiques et aires sous la courbe (ASC) du LAG525, du spartalizumab et du carboplatine
  • Prévalence des anticorps anti-médicament (AAM) contre le LAG525 et le spartalizumab au début de l’étude
  • Incidence des AAM contre le LAG525 et le spartalizumab pendant le traitement

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer